Your Buying Strategy of the Day: Thursday February 27th, 2014

I’ve done it! I’ve figured out a good use for the 15% off your “absurdly-priced purchase” at Toys R Us. Now it takes a bit of finagling. If you are wondering, yes I had to Google “finagling” to see how it is spelled, and no, Googling a word to see how to spell it is not an easy task. Interestingly enough, the definition is “to obtain (something) by devious or dishonest means.” But never mind all that.

One of the exclusions that apply to the 15% off sale is “Sale Items.” Well that leaves us in a pickle.

As I was combing the pages of overpriced LEGO, I noticed that the Super Secret Police Enforcer polybag is now $3.99 down from $4.99. I’ve been buying these up like the late, great Lake-town Guard and seeing them a dollar cheaper is good news!
http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=31225126&cp=2255956.2273442.2255962.3696486.31151746&parentPage=family

I also noticed that they’ve returned the Batcave back to MSRP for the first time in like a month. Also good news.
http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=12326411&cp=2255956.2273442.2255962.3696486.31151746&parentPage=family

And when you are trying to use a coupon or a static discount, you always want to make sure the set doesn’t say this on it: “Hot Price item! Cannot be combined with additional discounts” because that voids any tricks you might be using. Well neither of these sets say that on them but both are technically sale items because they have slashed prices. So I put them both in my cart and tried the SALE15 code. It did nothing.

Since I’ve used this code already this week, I thought maybe I hit some limit. Out of curiosity I put a regularly overpriced set into my cart alone and tried the code. Well it worked for that set. With that set still in my cart, I added back the Batcave. Hey, that’s strange, now the Batcave shows 15% off alone with the regular set. So I take out the regular set, leaving the Batcave. Oh, now my discount is gone. I think I see what’s happening here.

Add 1 regular set, then add the Batcave, then add the Super Secret Police Enforcer, THEN ADD one last item.
http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=19730746&cp=2255956.2273442.2255962.3696486.31151746&parentPage=family
That’s right, add the cheapest regularly-priced item you can find, a Series 10 minifigure. Then remove your previously added regularly-priced set (mine was the Joker’s Funhouse). And look at that, 15% off my entire order of sale items and all I had to do was buy a CMF for $2.97.

So finagle, my friends. Finagle to your hearts desire! And tell a friend to finagle as well!

Did you enjoy this post? Check back daily because there will be a new one every single day! Thanks for reading and feel free to leave a comment and/or share this tip to your favorite social media platform.

Subscribe now to Your Buying Strategy of the Day to assure continued deals.
The link below will take you to PayPal where you can pay for your first month of deals for only $10.
The subscription will be sent to your PayPal linked email address unless you state otherwise in the comments section of your payment.
The payment option below is for a monthly subscription service and will automatically bill your PayPal account each month starting whenever you sign up.

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=X85E2QA8CFT2L