Your Buying Strategy of the Day: Wednesday December 11th, 2013

I was afraid my posts were getting too redundant, Target this and Amazon that. But a good friend of mine reminded me that there really aren’t many places one can buy LEGO. He is right, there will be an occasional oddball, but the deals will center around LEGO Shop@Home/The LEGO Store, Target, Walmart, Toys R Us, and Kmart. Other than that, you may see me talking about Five Below, TJMaxx/Marshalls/Homegoods, Ross, Barnes & Noble, Sears, Giant, etc. I’ve even seen LEGO at FYE before.

So today the deal is at Toys R Us, but online only. If you have an aversion to online buying, it’s time to join the 21st century. Sometimes I find out about a deal from my network of colleagues, but most of them time, I just go digging and I find something unexpected. This one is too good to be true, so I’m going to have to do it twice to make sure. 😀

You’ve probably heard that spending $100 on regularly priced *cough cough* sets at TRU will get you $25 off. That’s all fine and good, but with their markup (their definition of regularly priced, you’ll be back down to about MSRP. That’s a reason to keep looking for a deal somewhere else. Well I heard from another friend that TRU had a bunch of sets on sale 50% off just like they did about 3 weeks ago. I doubt those count for the promotion, but you are free to pick those up as they are good deals on their own. What surprised me as I looked through the sets on their website, was that most if not all of the Super Heroes section was marked down to MSRP. These also count as regularly priced as I think the online prices often match MSRP as opposed to in-store.

Looking through the Super Heroes section online, I noticed that they didn’t have any of the new sets listed. That’s a bummer. But older sets have more honed part out values which are no longer inflated by initial supply and demand. I ran some numbers and found that the best part-out percentage was 76005 Daily Bugle Showdown which was $49.99 (MSRP) down from who knows what in-store. With a part out value of $96.72, the percentage is 1.93x. Not great, but then there are all the bonuses. I wanted to spend just over $100 to maximize my discount as it isn’t a percentage but rather a fixed price. Two of these sets (maximum allowed: 4) would put me a couple of cents short. Poking around I found this thing: http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=19730766&skuid=15317617
A $5 poster? When is the last time that a LEGO poster has cost you money? Well all I know is it better be full sized and not just 8.5″x11″. There is also a Superman poster, but it says it is a gift with purchase and I wasn’t able to figure out how to get it. Plus it was a couple of dollars MORE!!

And finally, here’s one they won’t tell you about. If you spend $75 on LEGO (online only), they give you a free Clone Lieutenant polybag. Remember that one? They value it at $4.99 but it cannot be purchased on its own at any quantity. I’m willing to bet that bag is still worth $15-$20 now that the promotions from LEGO are over. Ordering this on Wednesday (today) with your R’Us credit card will get you double points. What do the points do? Well, nobody really knows. The seem as useless as Kmart points but in a different way. I’ll be placing one of the following orders Tuesday night (as I am writing this) and then a second one on Wednesday after midnight to see if the double points thing works and to make sure all of the deals are still applicable at the start of a new day.

So I am getting 2x 76005 and the $25 is applied to one of them as if the sale is BOGO 50% off. I am also getting the Iron Man poster, the free Clone, and free shipping. My total before tax is $79.97 which gets me a part out percentage of 2.42x even without considering the polybag or the poster. I’ll consider doing this a few more times as I don’t think you’ll find a deal this good on 76005 with so many stacking discounts any time soon.

Did you enjoy this post? Check back daily because there will be a new one every single day! Thanks for reading and feel free to leave a comment and/or share this tip to your favorite social media platform.

Leave a Reply

