Your Buying Strategy of the Day: Tuesday December 3rd, 2013

Welcome back and thanks for joining me. This is your buying strategy of the day where I use my honed knowledge to share with you what I believe to be the best LEGO deal around today and every day.

Today you’ll need to go to your local Target. You really can do this any time this week, but of course, the earlier you go, the more copies of these sets will be on shelves. If shopping online is your thing, then these two sets are also available online and ship for free. The first of these sets is actually cheaper online than it is in stores. I’m glad I checked before I ran out for more myself.

79110 Silver Mine Shootout from the ill-fated Lone Ranger theme has an MSRP of $69.99 and a part out value of $124.82. The set is currently $55 in stores and should run through the whole week, though I didn’t actually confirm that duration when I was in-store. That is about 22% off. Not bad since the part out value is 2.27x the price you are paying (tax withheld). During my research for this post I found that the same set is actually cheaper on Target.com which happens more than you’d think. The set online is $47.99 which is about 32% off and 2.6x in part out. And let me remind you that this set is expensive enough, even on sale, to ship for free.

But wait, there’s more. This is pure insanity. I wish this was a video so you could see me realize this all live and without the backspace key. So first, the limit is 8 copies online. That’s fair. I got 2 earlier today in-store and now I’ll have 10 out of a hopeful 15 for part out. I can always buy more in-store, plus my RedCard limit is $500 so I’ll need to pay it off and let it clear before I can go for another round. So I’m checking out and I see that this set qualifies for BOGO 30% off Toys on their site. Ah, so that’s why the set was $47.99 down from $55 in-store. Wrong! This is an additional sale on top of the set being on sale ON TOP of the set being on sale in-store. I could not have clicked Check Out any faster. That means I got 8 of these sets for $38.75 )pre-tax). That’s 45% off or 3.22x in part out value.

Reading the fine print, it says that 30% off sale ends on the 2nd at midnight, so after Cyber Monday is over. Well, it’s currently 1:45 AM and it still worked. I suggest you give it a try and see if the sale still applies. If it doesn’t, well, you are still getting a great deal. This set is full of great stuff including the rare cattle skull pieces. Be sure to check my YouTube channel for a video evaluation of this set in the near future.

I don’t even feel that I need to tell you about the second set after all of that just went down, but since it’s Star Wars, you might be interested.

You all know Jek-14, right? He’s that made up Star Wars character from some awful spin-off series who boasts a trans-clear arm in minifig form. Anyway, him, 3 other figs, and his extremely overpriced, nearly monochromatic starfighter are on sale. 75018 Jek-14’s Stealth Starfighter has an MSRP of $69.99 and an abysmal part out value of $111.09. The set is currently $56 both in-store and online. Why the $56 instead of $55? I don’t know, blame Star Wars. Curiously enough, this set also says it qualifies for BOGO 30% off and buying 8 of them would have an average cost of $47.60 each. So that’s 32% off or 2.33x in part out value.

Now buying 8 of either of these is going to knock your RedCard down for the count (which makes me wonder if the 5% off everything applied or not…) so you’ll have to pick either the Mine or the Starfighter. Unless of course you get both. Just be warned (though I am not trying this) that your 30% offs will probably be applied to the Mines and not the Starfighters so you’ll end up paying more per set for “4 and 4” than for 8 or for “8 and 8.”

I’d leave you with a wrap up cost/store inventory evaluation, but there were a lot of factors and directions you could take. So I’ll leave you with the number for the 10 Mines that I got, two of which were from a store and the other 8 were purchased online.

Cost: $441.46 (upfront)
Store value: $1,248.20 (2.8x cost) (6440 pcs., 50 figs)

Did you enjoy this post? Check back daily because there will be a new one every single day! Thanks for reading and feel free to leave a comment and/or share this tip to your favorite social media platform.

Leave a Reply

