Your Buying Strategy of the Day: Sunday December 1st, 2013

Welcome to Your Buying Strategy of the Day. Every day I’ll be presenting you with what I believe to be the best LEGO deal around from an investor’s point of view. Check it out every day in December for free. If you like what you see, consider subscribing for continued access in 2014. The cost will be $10 per month and you can subscribe month-to-month. But never mind all of that for now, enjoy today’s deal!

I certainly don’t expect you to buy the deal of the day every single day. Even I don’t do that. There’s not enough time in the day to part out another new set every day. The reason I’m telling you this is because today’s deal is actually one that I took advantage of for my own BrickLink store. Today’s deal is again from the LEGO Shop@Home Clearance page. Don’t think for a second that every day’s deal will be from the same source, but LEGO’s current sales are running for 4 days straight so there is a lot to talk about.

Today I’d like to bring to your attention a particular discount that doesn’t often happen. With TLG’s recent changes in policy to no longer allow discounts of any sort on “Exclusives,” the current sale is quite surprising. If you haven’t guessed yet, I’m talking about the Mini Modulars set #10230. This set has gone on sale once before, maybe a year ago, but it was only 10% off then. This time it is ~20% off. I personally bought one last time around because, well, it’s an exclusive and it was on sale. I want to believe that the Mini Modulars will be just as popular as their big brothers once retired and even more so if we are to see a second Mini Modulars. We are about a year away from seeing another one, should it be created. With the upcoming Parisian Restaurant, we have our 9th Modular Building or 4th of the second 5 towards another Mini Modulars.

Alright, on to the important part. Much like the Speedorz from yesterday, there is a limit of 5 per order. That’s actually not too bad since it is an exclusive after all. Buying 5 of them puts you way over $149 (see yesterday’s post for the significance of $149) at $319.90, but I wouldn’t suggest buying fewer than 5, once again, because this is an exclusive on SALE! In fact, I recommend doing this whole thing 2 or 3 times to get as many as possible.

The investment of $319.90 gets you the $10 giftcard, the Holiday set worth at least $20, and triple VIP points which work out to be ~$48 in VIP dollars. The part out for 1 of these sets is $149.53 which is 2.33x your investment. The set also contains quite a lot of small parts in high quantities. Never underestimate the value of 1×1 plates in high quantity. I’ll be doing a Clutch Factor Plus video on this set as soon as all of mine arrive in the mail.

Cost: $319.90 (upfront) $261.90 (after incentives)
Credit: $10 giftcard plus $47.99 in VIP points for a total of $57.99 to spend as soon as your order arrives.
Store value: $767.65

That puts your cost to value ratio to nearly 3x.

Like I said, I recommend you do this at least once for 5 sets. I have one set already and I’ve ordered 5 more. That puts me at 6 of a hopeful 15. I would like to order a second 5 and/or buy some in-store if supplies last long enough.

Did you enjoy this post? Check back daily because there will be a new one every single day! Thanks for reading and feel free to leave a comment and/or share this tip to your favorite social media platform.

Leave a Reply

